NEXUS: Water-Food-Energy-Climate Speakers and Chairs Confirmed - Registration open

Conference Objectives
  1. To input the Nexus approach to the Sustainable Development Goals being developed for 2015 to replace the Millennium Development Goals
  2. Launch an Academic and Practitioners Network
Conference Partners
  • The World Bank
  • UNDP
  • UN Global Compact
  • Stockholm Environment Institute
  • World Business Council for Sustainable Development
  • WWF International
  • Millennium Institute
  • Biovision
  • WSPA

Conference Speakers
Confirmed speakers include:
  • Albert Butare: Co-chair of Bonn Nexus Conference and former Rwanda Energy Minister
  • Paula Cabellero Gomez Director of the Directorate for Economic, Social and Environmental Affairs, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Colombia 
  • Adnan Z. Amin: Director General, International Renewable Energy Agency (IRENA)
  • Elizabeth Thompson: former UN Assistant Secretary General and Coordinator, Rio+20
  • Ambassador Kitty van der Heijden, member of the SDG OWG, Netherlands
  • Greg Koch, Director, Global Water Stewardship in the Environment & Water Resources Department, The Coca-Cola Company
  • Dan Bena, Senior Director of Sustainability, PepsiCo
  • Rebecca Marmot, Partnerships and Foundation Director, Unilever
  • Andy Wales, Environment Director, SAB Miller
  • Michael Schmitz: Executive Director, ICLEI US
  • Hans Herren: President and CEO, Millennium Institute and 2013 Right Livelihood Winner
  • Maruxa Cardama: Executive Project Coordinator, Communitas
  • Jonas Monast: Director of Climate and Energy Program at Nicolas Institute, Duke University
  • Diego Rodriguez: Program Manager, World Bank
  • Hannah Stoddart: Head of Economic Justice Policy Team, Oxfam
  • Zak Bleicher: Partnership Officer, International Fund for Agricultural Development (IFAD)
  • Aneri Patel: Senior Associate, Energy Access at the United Nations Foundation
  • David Rothschild: Principal Portfolio Team, Skoll Foundation
  • Gary Lawrence: Vice President and Chief Sustainability Officer, AECOM
  • Stuart Orr: Head of Water Stewardship, WWF International
  • Anders Berntell: Executive Director, 2030 Water Resources Group
  • Steve Waygood: Chief Responsible Investment Officer, Aviva Investors
  • Geoffrey Lipman: Former Assistant Secretary General, UN World Tourism Organization
  • Joachim von Braun: Director of the Center for Development Research, University of Bonn
  • Lidia Brito: Director of Science Policy and Capacity Building for Natural Sciences, UNESCO
  • Johan Kuylenstierna: Executive Director for the Stockholm Environment Institute (SEI)
  • Joshua Tewksbury:  Director, Luc Hoffmann Institute
  • Julie van der Bliek, Adviser, Program and Business Development, International Water Management Institute
  • Jonas Monast, Director of Climate and Energy Program, Nicholas Institute for Environmental Policy Solutions, Duke University
  • Nicholas You, Chairman, UN-Habitat World Urban Campaign Steering Committee
  • Andre Dzikus, Coordinator, UN HABITAT
Conference Chairs:
  •  Janos Pasztor, Director, Policy and Science, WWF International
  • Olav Kjorven, Special Advisor on the Post-2015 Development Agenda, UNDP
  • Jorge Laguna-Celis, Senior Sustainable Development Advisor to the President of the UN General Assembly
  • Farrukh Iqbal Khan Counsellor Pakistan Mission to the UN
  • Annette Huber-Lee, Senior Researcher, Stockholm Environment Institute
  • Katherine Teh-White, Managing Director Futureye 

The Water Institute at UNC


Popular posts from this blog

Alexander Juras is Stakeholder Forum’s New Chairperson

Key Sustainability Dates for 2024

Possible Candidates for the next Secretary General - Amina Mohammed - Part 1